Macao – located on the western bank of the Pearl River Delta in southern Guangdong Province, People’s Republic of China – adjoins the Mainland city of Zhuhai and lies some 60 kilometres to the west of Hong Kong. Macao comprises Macao Peninsula, Taipa and Coloane. Macao Peninsula is the hub of the territory and is connected to Taipa by three bridges. Several large international hotel resorts – with new supporting infrastructure – are located on the reclaimed land between Taipa and Coloane in the newly developed district known as Cotai.

The Portuguese arrived and settled in Macao in the mid 16th Century. Thus, the city’s architecture, art, religion, traditions, food and community reflect the integration of Chinese, Western and Portuguese cultures. Macao became a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China on 20th December 1999 and exercises a high degree of autonomy under the principle of “One country, two systems”. The SAR is growing in size with more buildings on reclaimed land, and in the number and diversity of its attractions. In 2005, The Historic Centre of Macao was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List as a result of its unique historical and cultural landscape. Macao is currently positioning itself as the World Centre of Tourism and Leisure as it develops into a quality international tourist destination.

Language

Chinese and Portuguese are the official languages, Cantonese being most widely spoken. The official languages are used in government departments in all official documents and communications. English is generally used in trade, tourism and commerce.

Currency

The Pataca (MOP) is divided into 100 avos and it is Macao’s official currency. There are banknotes and coins in the following denominations: Coins: 10, 20 and 50 avos; 1, 2, 5 and 10 Patacas. Banknotes: 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 Patacas. Roughly 8 Patacas is equivalent to 1 US Dollar. There are no restrictions on the amount of currency, which can be brought in or taken out of the territory.

Climate

Located in the subtropical climate zone, Macao has moderate climate conditions throughout the year. Annual average temperature is about 23ºC (73ºF) and ranges from 20ºC (68ºF) to 26ºC (79ºF). Humidity levels are high in the city, where the average annual relative humidity tops 79%. The average annual rainfall measures about 2,058 mm in Macao, with the rainy season falling between May and September every year.

October to December is the most pleasant season to visit Macao, when visitors can enjoy warm autumn days with low humidity. January, February and March are the winter months with relatively cold but sunny weather, when it slowly gets warm again in April. From May to September, the weather becomes hot and humid with more rainy days and occasional tropical storms (known as typhoons).

In summer, visitors are advised to wear light cotton clothes for a pleasant journey in Macao; while woolens are recommended along with a thick jacket or an overcoat to keep warm during winter. It is great to bring along cardigans or sweaters in spring (March to May) or autumn (September to November) as nights are cooler during the two seasons.

For more travel details on Macao, please visit the Macao Tourism Board’s website.

Recent Comments

    Archives

    Categories

    • No categories

    Latest Posts

    Categories

    • No categories

    Twitter

澳门位于中国广东省南部的珠江三角洲,地处珠江口的西面,北面邻接中国大陆的珠海市,东面与香港隔海相距约60公里。澳门由澳门半岛、凼仔及路环三部份组成,澳门半岛是澳门城市发展的中心;凼仔和路环本是两个岛屿,透过填海工程相连,填海区发展为路凼城,不少大型酒店综合渡假村座落于此。

自葡萄牙人于16世纪中叶抵澳定居,四百多年来中西建筑、艺术、宗教、美食、社区等文化在澳门交汇融合,多元共存。自1999年12月20日起澳门回归中国,成为中华人民共和国的一个特别行政区,在「一国两制」的政策下实行澳人治澳、高度自治。澳门由昔日的小渔村,逐渐发展成为国际城市,2005年「澳门历史城区」成功列入教科文组织的《世界遗产名录》,令澳门得以向世界进一步展现其独特的历史文化面貌。现时澳门以世界旅游休闲中心为定位,致力发展成为高质素的旅游城市。

语言

中文和葡文是现行官方语言。居民日常沟通普遍使用广州话,但许多居民也能听懂普通话(国语)。英语在澳门也很通行,可在很多场合应用。

货币

澳门的官方货币单位是澳门币 (PATACA)。纸币面额计有10元、20元、50元、100元、500元及1000元六种;硬币有1毫、2毫、5毫、1元、2元、5元和10元七种。 1美元约兑换澳门币8元。本地或外地货币可自由出入境,数量不限。此外,信用卡也可以在澳门部份商店流通使用。

气候

澳门全年气候温和,平均气温约23ºC (73ºF),温差变化在20ºC (68ºF)和26ºC (79ºF)之间;湿度较高,年均达79%;全年平均降雨量约2,058毫米。每年的五月至九月是澳门的雨季,当气象局预测在未来两小时内,澳门的降雨量将达到约50毫米时,会发出暴雨警告信号。

十月至十二月是澳门的秋季,气候温和,湿度低,是理想的旅游季节。一月至三月为冬季,气温虽较寒冷,但阳光普照;踏入四月,温度逐渐上升;五月至九月,天气炎热,有时有台风。夏季只需穿棉质轻便衣服或T恤;冬季天气较冷,应备羊毛衣物及外套;春秋两季晚间稍凉,宜穿毛线衫或夹克。

欲查询更多有关澳门旅游详情,请浏览澳门旅游局网站

Recent Comments

    Archives

    Categories

    • 没有分类目录

    Latest Posts

    Categories

    • 没有分类目录

    Twitter